About LEI Code Lists

GLEIF Accepted Legal Jurisdictions Code List

The Global Legal Entity Identifier Foundation (GLEIF) publishes the ‘Accepted Legal Jurisdictions Code List’ (available for download below). The list is based on the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Standard 3166 and specifies more than 300 different codes.

According to the Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) Common Data File (CDF) format version 2.1 definition, ‘LegalJurisdiction’ is the jurisdiction of legal formation and registration of the entity (and upon which the legal form data element is also dependent). The LEI-CDF format version 2.1 xml schema validates the ‘LegalJurisidiction’ field with a value of the type jurisdiction code conforming to the ISO 3166 standard in either:

  • a 2-character country code conforming to ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 or
  • a region code conforming to ISO 3166-2.

In order to harmonize and provide a consistent usage between country and sub-division codes defining the ‘LegalJurisdiction’ of a legal entity among the different LEI issuers, GLEIF introduces a list of accepted ISO 3166 codes per country, considering already existing and established standards and formats within the Global LEI System. This list has been developed in accordance with the underlying LEI standard ISO 17442, LEI-CDF format version 2.1 and related rules and standards established in the Global LEI System. In addition, GLEIF is considering further aspects such as the legislation in the province/territory and federal level.

Guideline description

The general rule is to populate the ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 in the ‘LegalJurisdiction’ field unless specified to use sub-division code (3166-2). ISO 3166-2 is selected for certain jurisdictions based on the fact that there are entity legal forms that only are valid at the sub-division level.

In all cases where a country code (ISO 3166-1) and sub-division code (ISO 3166-2) both exist, the country code only is the accepted value, in order to minimize ambiguity and increase the consistency within the system.

Implementation of the GLEIF Accepted Legal Jurisdictions Code List

The standard on ‘LegalJurisdiction’ covers in total more than 300 different legal jurisdictions. LEI issuers are expected to adopt this guideline on updating ‘LegalJurisdiction’ in their process of LEI issuance.

GLEIF published this document on 2 April 2019. Afterwards, the LEI issuing organizations will have three months of implementation time. This standard is applicable to all newly issued LEIs or changed LEIs published after 1 July 2019 with ‘RegistrationStatus’ being ISSUED, PENDING_ARCHIVAL and PENDING_TRANSFER.

It is expected that all existing LEIs with ‘RegistrationStatus’ as ISSUED, LAPSED, PENDING_ARCHIVAL and PENDING_TRANSFER by 1 July 2020 are compliant with the given subset of accepted values. This gives the possibility of a full renewal cycle to take place; during this period, the legal entity should be given an easy possibility by the LEI issuers to change the data as per the current document. LEI issuers are not expected to update LEIs assigned to inactive entities and having registration status being DUPLICATE, ANNULLED, RETIRED or MERGED. During and after the implementation period, GLEIF will be monitoring the updates on the ‘LegalJurisdiction’ field by various LEI issuers.

Interested parties who have a recommendation for the content of the GLEIF Accepted Legal Jurisdictions Code List, are invited to email to LJ@gleif.org.

Relevant Files for Download